Bad Blogger, Bad!

08/08/2008

I don’t know what happened yesterday, I won’t give you the many excuses that came up, so I’m sorry! I’m still getting the blogging swaannngg down. But I’m sure once I have it, I’ll HAVE it, dang it. 🙂

This morning I felt like something a little… fancier. Which means, fresh Müsli and an Irish Cream latte.

008

I found some Da Vinci Irish Cream flavoured syrup in the cupboard, that somehow survived the move! Way to go little guy!

As my Müsli soaked up all it’s milky, apple-juicy goodness, I caught up on some comments and fellow bloggers. What I learned – 1) Oatmeal for breakfast is VERY popular. 2) Everyone looks to be eating so healthfully! Way to go blog world. 🙂

010

 

I sat down for a nice breakfast, under a very chilly sun! Autumn. You can’t beat it. (Yeah, yeah, save your breath I know it’s only August …)

In just a few weeks the leaves will start turning … and pumpkins/squashes will be available for all! Hooh-hah.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

011

013

 

Müsli heaven! Traditional Swiss Birchermüsli has berries in it – So after the oats were soaked in milk and apple juice, I mashed a few blackberries and raspberries, chopped an apple, and stirred it all up with a few big dollops of plain yogurt. Atop I sprinkled a bit of coconut and honey, because, well, need I explain myself? –

 

 

 

 

 

 

017

 

And I refilled my hot beverage slot with fresh Constant Comment tea, brought by a friend straight from the
States –

 

 

 

 

This time enjoyed with a whole grain cinnamon-honey plank –

 

 

 

 

 

019 

And while I was eating, I subscribed to 4 magazines! I’ve really missed them since we moved, so the surplus 10 dollars for S&H was cool with me. Shape, Self, Allure and Bon Appetit should arrive in my mailbox in a short 4 weeks, until then, I wait.

022This afternoon I concocted a spicy, autumn-y (last reference, I promise! Well, maybe not promise…) snack – 100g cottage cheese, 50g nonfat plain yogurt, a couple teaspoons of cinnamon, and sectioned then cubed orange pieces. Sprinkled with a bit of slivered almonds, I enjoyed this as I was browsing Baking with Julia Child. I think you can expect a Cranberry-Walnut Pumpkin loaf coming up!

 

 

 

Unfortunately, I just went to the grocery to make said recipe, and strike one – they didn’t have pumpkin. Strike 2 – They didn’t have my alternative, butternut squash. (Thinking about it now, it was a bit stupid on my part to think they’d have either at this time of year, no matter HOW many times I tell myself it feels like Autumn!) Strike 3 – No cranberries!

So I think I’m going to make a fruit foccacia instead.

025

 

I started feeling very pickish around 5, and before I could eat the whole kitchen I made a quick 100 calorie snack – 5 whole wheat crackers with a slice of cheese, nuked for 12 seconds to get melty and delicious, and a few slices of tomato. Hit the spot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m off for an upper body and ab workout – be back with dinner! Unfortunately I don’t know if I’m going to get to the Fruit Foccacia today, maybe tonight if I’m rambunctious enough, but tomorrow in the least.

Abs and arms workout was great, you’ve got to enjoy that weak-muscle, accomplished feeling.

NOW, onto dinner! I found a container of silken tofu in the back of my freezer… (!!!!) I had completely forgot about ‘er, poor gal. So I drained, drained, dried, drained, dried some more. I guess freezing it generated much more water.

026

So, I baked it with a grainy-musard honey marinade, for about 20 minutes on each side. Again, I think it was because I froze it.

With a base of spinach and a dressing of dijon vinagrette,

  • Cucumber half moons
  • Raisins
  • Yellow Pepper Cubes
  • Blueberries
  • Blackberries
  • Shredded Carrot

 028

 

Enjoyed with a toasted piece of whole wheat bread, and some Smart Balance –

027

029

 

And I had to go back for a refill! This time with olive baguette and no tofu 😦 I’m saving it for lunch Sunday, because I’m spending the day in Bern tomorrow! I’m pretty excited, I only wish I was staying overnight so I could take a nice lake-side Run… Or on second thought, I could just take the train home sweaty…

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’ll see what happens! Expect a late update tomorrow, but a great one indeed!

Goodnight folks, take care.

2 Responses to “Bad Blogger, Bad!”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Your breakfast looks so scrumptious!!

    Oh goodness, I subscribe to LITERALLY 25 magazines, haha – I’m an addict 😀

  2. Erin Says:

    That looks like the some awesome muesli! I’ve never put coconut on it but it’s only a matter of time! I love getting ideas for breakfast from your blog because we both have an A.M. sweet tooth. 🙂


Leave a comment