Crumpet Boy

28/07/2009

By now you should expect an out of the blue post title, because they’re titled after the first phrase that comes to mind when I wake up. Today’s was a combination of Bugle Boy, and tea and crumpets. Well, at least that’s why my 99% awake mind is deciphering.

 

Today started with some coffee. Big surprise there.
With a whole wheat rusk. I’m just full of surprises today!

PBAD 010

Then a ramekin of chilled watermelon with slivered almonds:

PBAD 009

Refreshing and simple. That’s what I’m about. Then before I could talk myself out of it, I laced up my Nikes and went on a quick 3 mile run through the mountain paths, dodging raindrops, frogs and slugs.
I run my best when it’s slightly damp – does anyone else find that?

And really, what better feeling is there than relaxing on a big comfy chair, eating scrumptious oatmeal, after putting on clean clothes, after a crisp, cool shower, after a fast-paced, sweaty workout? Exactly. Not much else.

Grad Gown 064

These would be stove-top, with banana, almond milk, cinnamon + cardamom + dash of salt. Toppings include puffed honey quinoa;

Grad Gown 066 

And a real surprise for your fine selves – a dollop of vegan vanilla frosting.
Yeah. I did. I so totally did.

Grad Gown 069

And it was good.

The day goes by so quickly when you wake up at 12. Imagine that.

So, by this time I had surpassed a normal lunch time, but then again I’m not really normal. I had a not so normal lunch of soy yogurt, kiwi, almonds and homemade cardamom berry compote –

Dance Party 006

The berries were from central Switzerland, the yogurt from Northern Switzerland, and the perfectly ripe kiwis? New Zealand.

Dance Party 002

Dinner just happened. It just, happened. I didn’t know what to make. I was out of brain power. (Lounging around all summer can do that.) I just took out some ingredients, just heated up a wok, just whipped up a orange-soy sauce, and just threw everything in the wok, and just ate it.

Dance Party 094

And it was good.

Sometime in the day also came this –

Tuesday 019

And magically it was kicked up a few notches;

Tuesday 020

BAM! Take that you simple produce! Naw, actually, I’m perfectly capable of enjoying plain produce, but these suckas got some love. Mrs. Granny Smith dressed herself in raspberry jam, Mr. Cucumber some spicy salsa, and Dr. Bell Pepper was prescribed a dose of herb cottage cheese. 

And Cobrasnake style almonds;

PBAD 002

Whellp, I’m off to read and make music. Adios muchachos y muchachas.

5 Responses to “Crumpet Boy”

  1. eliza Says:

    your oats look amazin, vegan frosting!!! yum!! 🙂
    and your photos are so gorgeous, love the photo of the watermelon with the slivered almonds so pretty.

    xo
    Eliza

  2. Marina Says:

    That yogurt parfait looks delicious!

  3. Katharina Says:

    Ooo everything sounds so yummy. puffed honey quinoa you say? I’ve never seen or heard of puffed quinoa before! And honey – must be out of this world! Sometimes throwing random things together makes for the most delicious meals.

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  4. Kailey Says:

    wow those stove top oats look delicious 🙂
    LOVE your photographs – stunning!

  5. Maya Says:

    I could NOT agree more. There is nothing in the world that feels better than getting in a nice sweaty workout, coming home and having a deliciously refreshing, cold to the bone shower, getting comfy and eating a bowl of scrumptious oats. Seriously. Hands down. Best sequence of events ever.

    http://perpetualmusings.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

