Nudge Nudge

02/11/2008

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls. Prepare yourselves for a list of reasons as to why you haven’t heard from your favourite vegetarian disciplinarian …

 

1. I think a photo will be better than any combination of words;

ImBack! 078

ImBack! 079

 

Oh, you haven’t met? Well excuse my manners! Allow me to introduce to you Oakley, Annie Oakley. She goes by Oakley. She’s a Tibet Spaniel, and her great great great grandparents were bred to keep Monks in Tibet company. What does a Monk friendly dog do, you may ask. Well, she lolls about, cuddles in between your hair and neck, licks your profusely, and can’t stand to be away from you. She’s lovely. (But you can probably see that) 🙂

 

 

2. I’ve never revealed this before. Brace yourselves. I’m about to reveal my identity. My name is Natalie Portman.

 

….. Psych!  I’m Ansley, which you know, I’m 18, and go to an international school here in Switzerland. I’m in my last year – and just finished most of my applications. I’ll tell you more about the schools and who lets me in as the posts keep coming!

3. This is combined with the previous – I’m a busy kid. I have volleyball 5 nights a week for 2.5 hours – I captain the school team and play on a local Swiss team. Of course I do other things, and spend a lot of time being our student council president, and blah blah all that scholarly stuff, but this is my passion, and by golly, I’m back boys and girls.

Okay, I’m sick of excuses. Let’s get going, shall we? Okay.

 

Let’s start with a batch of protein bars I improved. I was going to spend a few pretty pennies on a box from Amazon, but my better judgement kicked in and I decided to make my own.

ImBack! 003

A base of protein powder, applesauce, eggs, oats and ground flaxseed. With almonds, dates, a few chocolate chips on top. 12 grams of protein, 6 grams of fiber a pop.

A schmorgasboard dinner – roasted brussel sprouts with brown sugar and nutmeg, baked tofu with a tangy tamari sauce, crackers and broccolli/cauliflower.

ImBack! 017

Brussel sprouts normally disgust me, but I hadn’t had them in a few years so I decided to give em another shot. They were alright, but you won’t be seeing an appearance from them again anytime soon.

ImBack! 020 

I eat a bowl similar to this nearly every day –

ImBack! 032

This one has banana, pumpkin, plain yogurt, and cinnamon. Can you turn orange from too much beta carotene? Because I just might …

And lastly, to wrap up this post, my star fall ingredient, cranberry compote.

ImBack! 062

On a freshly baked, flaky, buttery gipfli. In Deutsche. Croissant en Français, Crescent in American English.

ImBack! 072

Tart, slightly sweet, perfect with the aforementioned pastry.

ImBack! 075

Yum.

6 Responses to “Nudge Nudge”

  1. Julz Says:

    YAY! I missed you TONS, Ans! And I’ve dramatically cut back on my pumpkin intake, bc my hands DID, in fact, turn Orange :-\ Ewwwwww.

  2. Megan Says:

    Oakley is absolutely adorable.

    Those protein bars look amazing as do all your other eats!

    Glad you are back!!

  3. VeggieGirl Says:

    WELCOME BACK, ANSLEY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my goodness, I’ve missed your posts, girl!! Hooray!! 😀

    Oakley is too cute!!

    Ahh, your food looks amazing. Holy yum.

  4. Erin Says:

    I’m so glad you’re back! Oakley is adorable.
    You kinda had me going with the Natalie Portman thing.
    I loved hearing about who you are – thanks for including the details. 🙂

  5. Hangry Pants Says:

    Hahah, nice to formally meet you Natalie … I mean Ansley.

    I am going to jump through the screen for that croissant. Yum!

  6. merittothecarrot Says:

    Oakley is beyond adorable. I had to comment again (I know, 2 comments, less than 10 min= creeper)… but I Love your blog!
    And yes, you do turn orange. I know from personal experience.
    Pumpkin, carrots, sweet potatoes… check, check, check!


Leave a Reply

