Nori Maki

14/08/2008

A random fact about me – When I wake up, I try and write down the first word or phrase that comes to mind. It’s often ‘ten more minutes’ or ‘I don’t want to…’. Today? It was Nori Maki. Weird!

Last night’s ice cream – hooh boy.

002

The Ice cream base was a Sumatra Coconut, with Toasted Sesame Brittle in it. I added salted peanuts (I’m a sucker for salty & sweet) and a drizzle of runny almond butter, then stuck it back into the freezer to let the AB harden.

When I took it out, the ice cream was incredibly fluffy. The almond butter was chewy, and the peanuts were deliciously salty.

004

To say it was heaven in a bowl would be an understatement. The harmony of all the flavours themselves couldn’t even be described as simply amazing.

005

And the ice cream spoon I bought in Bern. It’s really small, so I savour every last bite.

006

 

On this morning – Coffee in the London mug. It’s my biggest mug …

Right behind ‘im is my new candle – Honey and Coffee. Oh, it’s great.

And I’d like to show you the scrumptiousness known as my Krisproll tradition – Which I have every morning, rain or shine –

 

 

 

 

 

 

007

The Krisproll becomes soggy, and the flavour of the sweet, nutty coffee just enrobes each little crumb. A tradition I wouldn’t trade for anything.

For the record, I had a tiny corner of the pizza from last night – There’s really nothing like cold pizza. Especially left over Rosemary Whole Wheat Veggie Pizza.

008

All I felt like digging into this morning was a huge bowl of oats. So oats I ate. Last night’s peanuts on ice cream made me want nutty oats – So I sprinkled a bit of almond extract into the oats, along with banana and vanilla. On top were toasted walnuts, peanuts, and a spoonful of AB.

009

Then I went to Kath’s website, and it looks like we had the same idea! I was freaked out.

011

With the last 30 pages of my book – Stephen King On Writing. If you’re a fan of King like me, then it’s a great book. It’s even a great book if you’ve no idea who the bloke is.   

10 Responses to “Nori Maki”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    That ice cream! The pizza! So enticing.


  2. i love your ice cream spoon! 🙂

  3. Christie Says:

    That ice cream is making me drool… I know what I will be treating myself to tonight!

  4. Erin Says:

    I have no words for your dessert. I am just totally jealous. WOW.

  5. HangryPants Says:

    Ice cream = good.

    How did you make the wheat dough?

    Heather

  6. Nikki Says:

    I read your blog every post you make and have you on my blogroll – I love your photos and your little rituals. I wish I knew where to get a krisproll – they look so good. I am not a coffee drinker but love my tea. I think your blog is terrific. It is one of my favorites and I am not meaning to puff you up or anything – it is just true!

  7. Jess Says:

    Hi there, 2 things.

    thing 1, i added you to my blogroll because you rock.

    thing 2, I would love to see some pics of your surroundings in switzerland, house, street, neighborhood, whatev you feel like shooting.

    thing 3 (damn I lied) what are you studying there?

    K I think that’s it 🙂

  8. Jess Says:

    Oh and it’s model behavior in case you didn’t know, I’m don’t know why my name doesn’t link to my site like it’s supposed to 🙂

    http://www.modbehav.com

  9. MWS Says:

    that ice cream looks… i mean there are no words. AMAZING. please post a new entry soon so I can see some more of your fabbbbbulous photography! you are SERiously talented. you make me want to buy a huge framed picture of whatever you are eating and hang it above my fireplace.


  10. […] Remember my post Nori Maki? Where I said that I like to write down the first word that comes to mind when I wake up? No? Well, […]


Leave a Reply

