The Wall.

12/08/2008

No, not a Pink Floyd plug in, a physical wall. I woke up this morning feeling like I ran straight into a brick wall, going hundreds of miles per hour. I read 50ish pages in my book, then went to bed again, hoping the wall would dissipate.

When I woke up at 2:09 (!!!!!!!!!!!!) I felt much better. Though the wall had indeed dissipated, he took my appetite, again! So, I sat around and read some more, and around 4:15 it returned.

Upon first grumble, I wanted to scream IT’S ABOUT BLOODY TIME!

It’s cold and rainy again today ( 🙂 ) so I really only felt like a bowl of comforting, gooey, mushy, warm, oozy oats. And, following the foodie bandwagon, I made Kath’s Classic Banana Oats.

001

But I’m getting ahead of myself. I had a mug of dark, nutty coffee while they were cooking away.

002

Giving his friend the P. Krisproll a hug –

I can’t for the life of me find quick cooking oats here, but I’ve found some really high-quality rolled oats. They take about 30 minutes to cook stovetop, but the fruits of my labour never go un-appreciated, and certainly never without savouring every last spoonful.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

003

With toasted walnuts, slivered almonds, and some warm, runny almond butter. I had a sliced Gala apple with cinnamon and a drizzle of AB too –

004

I found a new brand, and I swear it’s the best almond butter I’ve had. It’s a Max Havelaar brand (think free trade) and the nutty flavour is really insurmountable.  It’s nearly 5! And I’ve only just eating breakfast! Slash lunch. Slash afternoon snack.

Oh well. Dinner has a high chance of involving last night’s medley of veggies, because I’m sure it’s just thickened with age in the fridge 🙂

Update – 7:00pm

I’m getting hungry again – Hoorah! For a while I thought my grumbles would be gone for the rest of the day after such a fibrous breakfast/lunch. I can’t believe it’s 7 though. Dinner should be around 7:30, 8ish, but before I can start cooking I’ve got to call my German tutor and arrange more lessons…. Hoi!

2 Responses to “The Wall.”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Haha, love the Pink Floyd reference 😉

    Such beautiful eats!!

  2. Beatrice Says:

    That is the most attractive presentation of apple slices that I’ve ever seen! (Much better looking than the browning-slices I used to find in my school lunches…) Now I want some almond butter.


Leave a Reply

