A European Kid’s Dream

06/08/2008

I woke up this morning with a hankering for oatmeal. No blueberries, no banana, no nectarine. My favourite variations of the breakfast grain were shot. Then I heard a choir of angels sing as a stroke of genius hit me – NUTELLA OATMEAL!

Now, before you roll your eyes and gag at the decadence for so early in the morning, hear me out. It was very light – only a 1/4 cup dry serving, and needless to say, it was heavenly. I’m sure any kid in Europe, (Or the States, I hear it’s growing in popularity) would jump for joy to have a breakfast like this.

In a saucepan I brought to a boil just under half a cup of water, with a splash of milk for creaminess, salt, and a teaspoon of Nutella. Then I added the oats, and cooked them per usual.

029

When they were done – I sprinkled on a tablespoon of coarsely chopped hazelnuts, and a Nutella spoon.

I felt like a little European kid in heaven, skipping about with a bowl of oats in one hand, and a spoonful of Nutella in the other.

016

 

Earlier this morning I started things out with fresh coffee and a Krisproll.

 

Since it was a pretty small breakfast, I’m not sure how well it will hold me – I ate pretty late, around noon, so something to tide me over until dinner is bound to be made.

7 Responses to “A European Kid’s Dream”

  1. Kath Says:

    Love that bowl!! And your photos, as always. Super gorgeous.

    Is your Nutella trans-fat free? I looked at it once to fine “partially hydrogenated” on the label. But maybe I found the wrong kind?

  2. Erin Says:

    That sounds incredible! I love Nutella! Also, I tagged you – check my blog for more details!

  3. vegetariandisciplinarian Says:

    Kath – My Nutella’s ingredient looks like this –

    Zucker (Sugar), Pflanzliches Ol (Vegetable Oil), Haselnusse 13% (Hazelnuts), Fettarmer Kakao (Lean Coco Butter, I think), Magermilchpulver (Skimmed Milk Powder), Emulgator (Soy Emulsifier) and Vanilin (Vanilla).
    The vegetable oil used in the jar you bought is probably what was hydrogenated, unfortunately.

    It’s strange that it would be different in the States? Does the jar say Ferrero?

  4. vegetariandisciplinarian Says:

    Erin – I’m not very technologically savvy, per se … Not sure how to link anyone back? Maybe I’m not the best blog to tag, haha. I’ll sure try though!

  5. Christie Says:

    You have such a talent for taking pictures they really are beautiful!

  6. VeggieGirl Says:

    NUTELLA OATMEAL!?!??!?!? Yes, please!! :0D

  7. Betsy Says:

    oh. my. god. if i could marry nutella, i probably could. it does suck that american nutella has trans fat. it always makes me sad when i pass by it in the supermarket. i tried to eat my fair share when i lived in spain, but you can never have enough nutella.


Leave a Reply

