DGIF –

18/07/2008

Danke Gott es ist Freitag! (My very novice German translation of TGIF!

It was really hard to get out of bed this morning. It was so nice and comfy, warm and cozy, well you know the drill.

Someone asked why I went to the Nutritionist – a few reasons. I wanted to see how my diet was, in a nutritionist’s eyes, and also, the past few weeks I’ve been eating about 1,200 – 1,500 calories a day, and have been gaining weight, so I wanted to see what was up with that. We have another appointment Wednesday, and I’ll surely let the foodie world know what’s happening.

My Aunt and cousins, as well as 3 friends from America are coming next week! I’m very excited, and also to cook for so many people! It’s going to be great. A week later we all leave for Tuscany, and we’re spending a week in a ‘castle’ we rented. There will be 12 of us total, so the ‘castle’ is really just a large stone house … I guess by definition that is a castle!

023

For breakfast this morning I was planning on making bulgar with blueberries, but I was running late because I hit the snooze a few too many times…. So I made the last of my nectarine steel cut oats. I threw on a few mutli-flakes, raisins, slivered almonds and a KERF PB spoon.

022

 

 

And Coffee, in a London mug today, with the usual Krisproll for dipping. I drank half the mug (It’s GINORMOUS) before I even took the picture …

 

 

And on the side a few Orange segments, cold, juicy and refreshing –

 

 

 

 

021

I went to a really neat, modern home store after German and bought two sweet, long oatmeal spoons, two tiny ramekins, and a guitar pick shaped pate. You’ll surely be seeing them soon!

You’ve gotta love Volumetrics, baby. Eating a 350ish calorie meal, and being stuffed to the gills. For some strange reason, I was craving Tuna. I never, ever crave meat. I think it was the salty taste of my childhood calling.

So I made a tuna salad with carrots, celery, bell pepper, pickle, tomato, and a faux mayo with yogurt, mustard, and cottage cheese.

024

Underneath the Tuna salad was spinach and mixed greens, a few whole wheat spirals and tomato.

025

On the side I had a rye bruscetta with fresh tomatoes, a sprinkling of parmesan and a drizzle of balsamic, as well as some ripe melon with a dollop of yogurt, and a few flakes of granola for crunch. SO filling, so delicious, so satisfying.

031 

030

 

010

 

 

Like yesterday, I went on another mountain bike ride/hike, and let me tell you, it is a GOOD workout. After cooled off a bit I had a slice of whole wheat toast with 1/2Tbs PB with a few slivered almonds. I was  surprised how far only half a tablespoon went… Also I had half a banana, half a nectarine with a little more yogurt and cinnamon.

 

 

 

 

 

007

I’m going to see Get Smart tonight! I’m so excited, I’m a huge Office fan, so naturally, I’m a huge Steve Carrell fan. We decided to eat here before we left, so I thawed some mixed veggies – asparagus, pumpkin, green beans, bell peppers and yellow + green zucchini. In the bottom of our bowls I threw in some left over cauliflower mash (which unfortunately you can’t see), the veggies, and Quorn. With a few slashes of Frank’s and some parm, we were set.

017

You can see the wisps of steam! It was nice and hot. 2 ways, also – hot in temperature, and spicy, thanks to the Frank’s! 🙂

025

020 

 

 

Oh, on the side were breadsticks (haha, sticks of bread…) with whole wheat and a pumpkin/rye combo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m going to make little snacks for the movie – a sort of popcorn trail mix deal, then I’m off! Catch all you cool cats later 😉

5 Responses to “DGIF –”

  1. Julz Says:

    Hey there! My name is Julz and I just recently found your special work of art (blog) 🙂 It is quite divine, if you ask me! I’m so glad that I found it! You have such beautiful pictures and all emit such elegance! And, of course, SO WONDERFULLY FULL OF HEALTH 🙂 This will become a regular for me 🙂 Thanks so much, girlie! Would it be all right if I added you to my blogroll?

  2. Nikki Says:

    I got the best teeny little oranges at the farm stand. They are clementines and I love them. They are so small and cute.

  3. hk Says:

    i just adore your pictures- everything looks good enough to eat 🙂 LOVE IT!~

  4. Kath Says:

    Your photos are soooo beautiful!!!

  5. Erin Says:

    I agree. I love your pics!


Leave a Reply

