The Sun Listened… And So Did the Bees

15/07/2008

The Sun must’ve listened to the unhappy Swiss folk cry, because he came out today! It’s the perfect temperature, too – 72. I snapped a few shots when I was out on the balcony, to show the blog world my humble abode’s lovely view.

012

013

The Alps are to the left of this, and on a clear day they’re quite breath-taking, so someday I’ll get them up here.

So, onto the bees. I was outside on the balcony, thinking about a time when I was at my Aunt’s house as a child, and I got stung by a swarm of bees – It was bad, about 10-15 stings in total, which turned into a crying fit – So anyway, there I was, on the balcony remembering my hate for the insect, when what do you know, one landed on me and stung me! I haven’t been stung since that frightful day at my Aunt’s, but I certainly hadn’t forgot the pain … It’s swelling up this very moment, throbbing with the evil bee poison! Ouch!

005

Moving on, this morning I had my usual coffee (Cafe Verona today) in a Starbucks city mug (Zurich today) and a dip-able Krisproll.

Breakfast today was a very un-appetizing mixture of plain yogurt, a few spoonfuls of cottage cheese, cinnamon, apple, honeydew and bran cereal in my Hippo bowl. (I call it that because it’s thick and 2 shades of purple) It tasted really great, don’t get me wrong!

008

Workout today was 25 minutes elliptical, my new book – Foreign Correspondence by Geraldine Brooks – for a time distracter. (I must say, fine print is quite difficult to read on the elliptical!) and 15 minutes upper body weights.

015

I refueled with a slice of whole wheat bread, a tsp of almond butter, half a banana, a few raisins and 6 almonds. On the side I had THE plumpest, ripest, sweetest and juiciest cherries I think I’ve ever had.

016

024

023

I couldn’t decide which picture to rule out, so to spare some hurt feelings, I added them all.

This afternoon I had a refreshing bowl of fruit with a few raspberries, a petite nectarine and a small navel orange.

034

I bought a HUGE bag of fresh spinach today, so a spinach salad was definitely in order for diner. With a bit of grilled salmon on top, it was uber filling. I’m still very full! It had:

  • Tomato Wedges
  • Cucumber Half Moons
  • Corn Kernels
  • Fresh Basil
  • Sliced Almonds
  • Pickles
  • A few Raisins
  • Homemade Sweet Mustard Dressing

039

It’s funny that it looks like such a large portion of salmon! Very strange indeed. And here’s a perfect bite –

046

I’m about to call it a night. Maybe fix a nice cup of tea, and unwind with a book. Tomorrow is another early day.

Do I have any readers out there? I’m a very sociable person, and I love comments! I’ll most definitely drop you a line back. Show me some love, ladies! (And gentlemen!) 😀

3 Responses to “The Sun Listened… And So Did the Bees”

  1. Rach Says:

    Your food (and general) photography is gorgeous!

  2. alicia Says:

    Hi there,

    Just want to let you know that you do have readers. I love your food photography and everything looks so delicious. 🙂 Keep it up!

  3. Neddie Says:

    Ansley this looks delicious. You are extremely talented!


Leave a Reply

