Four C’s, a Z & an R Cookie Cakes

13/07/2008

What a recipe name. I call them ‘cakes’ because in no way are they like a cookie – well, other than their shape and the fact they were made on a ‘cookie sheet’. They’re extremely chewy, doughy, moist, and nearly fall-apart when devouring. I had an inspiration to make Zucchini bread, but I took the plain ‘ole loaf to the next level: Zucchini Carrot Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookie Cakes.

I said before they had no fat- but I stand corrected! Thanks Meg! The almonds, yolk and chocolate chips have about 35 grams of fat in total, and this batch made about28 cookies, so that’s just over one gram of fat per cookie. But who’s counting, right? 🙂

009

I started with my oatmeal raisin cookie recipe, then decided the best way to go about this was to go from scratch.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Egg, Beaten (I usually use whites in my cookies, but this recipe really needs one yolk)
  • 1/2 Cup Light Applesauce
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar (If you have Splenda Brown Sugar, that would be fine)
  • 1/3 Cup Honey
  • 3/4 Cup Splenda for Baking
  • 1 Tbs Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Ground Almonds
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1 1/2 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/2 Tsp Cloves (My secret weapon!)
  • 1 Cup Shredded Zucchini, de-moisturized
  • 1/2 Cup Shredded Carrot, also de-moisturized
  • 1/2 Cup Raisins
  • 3/4 Cup Dark Chocolate Chips (Or the gradient you prefer)

1. Preheat the oven to 180 C, or 350 F.
2. Grease a cookie sheet, or use parchment paper
3. Mix egg, applesauce, brown sugar, honey, and vanilla. (1a)
4. In another bowl, sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, and spices. Set both bowls aside.
5. Take the grated Zuc and Carrots, place them over a hefty amount of paper towels, or a towel, plus some more for the top, and throw on some heavy cookbooks, let de-moisturize for about 15 minutes. Go watch some TV, read a book, call a friend, walk to the dog, take a pee, whatever. Chill for 15. (1b)
6. Add the Chocolate Chips and Raisins to the wet ingredients, followed by the Zuc and Carrots.
7. Add the dry ingredients, and stir until well combined. Don’t over work the batter, it will get mad and won’t puff up for you in the oven.
8. Drop rounded tablespoons of the goodness onto the pan, and bake for 14 minutes. (1c)
9. Let cool, [or not!] and devour! (1d)

0011a) If you don’t have Brown Sugar, like me, take the amount of granulated sugar and mix with a drizzle of Molasses. I find the flavour is much better than store bought, so I make it instead.

003

1b) I used a few of my Julia Child cookbooks, carrots on the bottom, Zuc in the middle layer. (This picture makes me want to sing ‘Under Pressure’ by Queen…) And in the background is a complimentary blurry view of Lake Zug!

004

1c) Goodness gracious great balls of fire dough. Be sure to flatten them with the back of your spoon a little bit.

1d) The first pan of chewy, cakey heaven. When I was done baking them, I realized I forgot a very important certain ingredient! NUTS! I did add almond powder, but I think some walnut halves would’ve just ‘taken this up a notch’ as Emeril says. Maybe some pecans atop as a nice crunchy garnish.

007

008

010

Leave a Reply

