Patience – And a Complimentary Recipe

11/07/2008

Well, as I assumed, this morning was again a bit rocky. My alarm went off at 5, [Actually, 3 went off at 5] but I hit the snooze for, somehow, and hour, and didn’t get to the Swisscom store until 7:30! When I got there, I was really disappointed to find a good long que out front, all eagerly awaiting to get their hands on an iPhone as well.

I stood in line a few minutes, then went to the front, like the sneaky gal I am, and asked if the White 16GBs came in – she said, no but they’re banking on a week or two, with a slight change of them arriving Monday. They only had 32 black 8GBs left, so I decided to come back and sleep.

I was initially really upset and disappointed, but waiting a few extra days isn’t going to kill me, if anything, it’ll make my love and anticipation for the gadget grow and grow.

I came home, and slept so solidly I’m afraid I won’t sleep tonight. Oh well, that’s more time for me to get things done. I haven’t been really hungry today, so I just munched on a few cinnamon apples schmeared with a bit of Smart Balance warmed in the oven. I found this plate for 3.20 francs! Score.

009

I also had a craving for some warm, chewy Irish Steel Cut Oatmeal. I made a nectarine-infused batch. Here’s the recipe I improved:

001

  • 1 Cup Irish Steel Cut Oats
  • 3 Cups Water
  • 1 Cup Skim Milk

Bring these items to a boil, and once they’re starting to thicken, stir and cover, reducing to medium-low heat. Set the timer for 10 minutes, and then stir. Set again for 10 minutes, but stir occasionally throughout. After 20 minutes total, add:

  • 2 Cups Diced Nectarines
  • 3 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1.5 tsp Cloves
  • Schlob of Honey
  • Splash of Vanilla

Now, you’ve got to stir these with some brute force. Your goal is to mush the nectarines a little bit, so the juices infuse with the oats. Stir for about 3 minutes, set the timer for 7 minutes, and they’re finished. [To clarify, you’ll have a total of 30 cooking minutes.]

013

It will turn this gorgeous golden, amber colour that smells positively heavenly!

017

Here it is prepared, and all packaged up into individual portions: (The entire batch makes four 160-calorie servings). Here’s one all portioned out, and spruced up. I had a taste of it, then gave the rest away.

 

 

 

021I still didn’t feel like eating anything too solid. I’m not sure what’s going on, I’ve got that shoulder-neck achy thing happening. I was hungry, but didn’t want to eat, so I made a nice little bowl of yogurt mixed with some great fun things:

  • Plain Yogurt
  • Hit of Greek Yogurt
  • Dash of Allspice
  • Fresh Blackberries
  • Fresh Raspberries
  • Sliced Almonds
  • A Few Chopped Walnuts
  • Multi Grain Flakes

 

Close up: 022 

 For dinner, I fired up ze grille and tossed some veggies on. The lake was looking preety eerie and green, and not 10 minutes after I came in with a plate of grilled goodness it started to POUR. Thunder, lightning, the whole darn shebang.

I made a salad from this, throwing in a bunch of goodies. It contained:

  • Zuc/Squash/Carrots/Bell Peppers from the grill
  • Red Beans
  • Raspberries
  • Raisins
  • Basil
  • Almonds
  • Flaxseed
  • Slice of whole wheat bread, schmear of Smart Balance

It was goooooood. Fiberous, volumtious, delicious. 

Leave a Reply

